You are here

Brexit and the Economic Partnership Agreement between the EU and the Southern African Development Community EPA States

10 August 2017 | Johannesburg, Brussels
Legal Briefings – By Peter Leon and Lode Van Den Hende


The European Union (“EU”) signed an Economic Partnership Agreement (“EU-SADC EPA”) with the Southern African Development Community EPA States: Botswana, Lesotho, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa and Swaziland (“SADC EPA States”).

Pending ratification by all twenty eight EU Members States, the EU-SADC EPA provisionally entered into force between the EU and the SADC EPA States (excluding Mozambique) on 10 October 2016. This briefing provides a brief overview of the agreement's key benefits for South-African traders as well as the potential impact of Brexit on the future trade relationship between South Africa and the UK.

Click here to read the full briefing.

See how we help our clients in

International Trade and WTO

Learn More

Key Contacts